top of page
Search
  • katelynnesser

it's a journey

Updated: Mar 11, 2021


it's not just a journey

it's a heavy journey

depression

anxiety

dependency

fear

however you describe it

it's heavy

and you hate yourself for having it

yes I just used the word hate, I hate that word too

but it's a pretty damn good description of the emotions these things bring out

cause they sure don't bring out feelings you would otherwise choose

as you can see I also just used the word damn

this might not be one of my most polished works

but I wanna be real with you

depression is scary

anxiety is emotionally exhausting

dependency is so complicated

and fear is irrational

they're all heavy

so

so

heavy

but we don't have to carry them alone.

my love, David, has made that abundantly clear to me

he continually reminds me of Matthew 11:28-30 which reads,

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

it doesn't always make it feel lighter in the moment

but it makes it possible to turn my face away from the darkness and toward the light

where God is and His love overflows

God has blessed me with an incredible man who is upright and patient

David has been God's physical presence for me

he has shown me what God's love is like in this world

it walks beside you through the seasons of joy and the seasons of pain

it doesn't leave you alone in your tears

it remains and returns each and every day

it is quiet and gentle

it speaks truth

it delights in you

and reminds you that today is not the end of your story

eternity is still ahead

the beautiful presence of God in heaven is still waiting for you

your purpose will not be complete until God calls you home

and when He does

your pain will subside

and joy and love will reign supreme forever

all thanks is due to Jesus Christ who carried the weight of all this and more

who experienced every pain there is

to save us, His beloved

& yes it is possible to feel depressed, anxious, dependent, and afraid while also feeling thankful

praising the King within the pain is where I will be

come join my journey


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page